Double click to insert body text here ...


© Chris Byrne 2010

The Teams (3)


An impressive range of silverware in front of a very full Club line-up.

The Senior Cup had been won with a convincing 5-1 efeat of Witney Town at The Manor.
The goals came from Tony Bricknell, Peter James(2) and Jack Guilfoyle(2).

The Benevolent Cup had also been won with a victory over Witney - but only 3-2 - with goals from Brian Thorne, Peter James and Bernard Harris.

Two goals from Peter James had given City a 2-1 win over Pegasus in the AFA Cup.

Fred Jackson, Doug Buswell and Ron Goodison had scored to defeat Bicester Garrison in the SMC Final.

And the Reserves had had a 3-1 win at Elm Park against Slough Reserves to retain the Reading Senior Cup.

1960 OSC Winners2

On April 26th 1960 the team celebrate regaining the Oxfordshire Senior Cup after beating Pegasus 3-0 at the Manor in a replay. The first match had been drawn 2-2 at the OURFC ground.

(L to R)  Ray Crossingham, Jimmy Evans, Doug Buswell, Ron Goodison, John Staniland, Arthur Howlett, Tony Bricknell, Bill Woodward, Bernard Harris, Fred Jackson and Colin Kelly.
Goodison and Howlett(2) scored the goals.


In the mid-Sixties the 1966-67 side poses for the Oxford Mail cameraman.
Back Row (L to R): Mick Ramsden, Nick Brown, John Shippey, John Lamb, John Shufflebotham, Steve Morton.
Front Row (L to R): John Woodley, Eric Metcalfe, Tony Bradbury, Ron Goodison, Bob Jackson, George Pullin.

Football Scrapbook20009_retouched_1

Taken in 1973 this squad photo shows:
Back row (L to R): Bob McCrae, Andy Glass, John Woodley, Mickey Sherrell, Jimmy Tomkins, John West, Steve Freeman, Alan Evans, Maurice Kyle, Peter Harris.
Front Row (L to R): Peter Dallaway, Neil Hartigan, Barry Cooper, Andy Sinnott, Eric Metcalfe, Steve Atherton, Andy Glass Snr.

(Photo courtesy of Neil Hartigan.)

Football Scrapbook20001

This photo, taken before the match at Ilford on March 31st 1973, shows:
Back Row (L to R): Matthew Hunt, Jimmy Tomkins, Trevor Stokes, Peter Harris, Alan Evans, Alan Inseal, Ford Ennals.
Front Row (L to R): Peter Dallaway, Andy Sinnott, John Woodley, Eric Metcalfe, Neil Hartigan

(Photo courtesy of Neil Hartigan.)

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player